Dr. Galia Golan

Internationally Acclaimed Peace Activist, Scholar and Author

Galia Golan, PhD, has also been a leading Israeli peace activist for many decades, having co-founded and served in the leadership of Peace Now and a number of women’s local and international peace groups. Currently she a leading member of Combatants for Peace.

Similarly she has been an active feminist, involved in the founding and leadership of a number of organizations including the Lafer Center, Israel’s first university institute for women’s studies. She is also an editor of the Palestine-Israel Journal and an associate editor of the International Feminist Journal of Politics.

Professor Golan is the author of ten single-authored books, most recent of which is Israeli Peacemaking since 1967: Factors Behind the Breakthroughs and Failures.  Together with Walid Salem, she is the co-editor of Non-State Actors in the Middle East: Factors for Peace and Democracy, and with Gilead Sher, a volume about to appear Spoilers and Coping with Spoilers in Israeli Peace Efforts, in addition to numerous volumes and articles on Soviet policy in the Middle East and on Czechoslovakia.

Darwin Professor of Soviet and East European Studies (emerita) of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and Professor emerita of the Interdisciplinary Center, Herzliya, where she was head of the Program in Diplomacy and Conflict Studies. She specializes in international crises, the Arab-Israeli conflict, and current political issues. She has been a consultant to the IDF and the Foreign Ministry.


  • 2019 International Studies Association Distinguished Scholar/Activist Award
  • International Studies Association 2016 Distinguished Scholar Award
  • Israel Political Science Association 2007 Award for Lifetime Achievement and Contribution to the Field
  • Gleitsman Foundation 1999 Activist Award
  • New Israel Fund 1995: Alice Shalvi Award for Women in Leadership
  • Interdisciplinary Center, Herzliya 2012 Award for Outstanding Teaching
  • 2016 International Studies Association Award for Peace Studies